8th Malaysian International Seminar On Antarctica | SULTAN SALAHUDDIN ABDUL AZIZ SHAH ARTS AND CULTURAL CENTRE
» NEWS » 8th Malaysian International Seminar on Antarctica

8th Malaysian International Seminar on Antarctica

Malaysia is not only committed to address issues of climate change and protection of Antarctic resources but has made progress in the focus region of Antarctica in science and governance. This was emphasised by the Ke Bawah Duli Yang Maha Mulia Al-Wathiqu Billah Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin Ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Mahmud Al-Muktafi Billah Shah, Sultan of Terengganu, Patron of Yayasan Penyelidikan Antartika Sultan Mizan (YPASM) in His Majesty royal opening declaration to more than 1000 guest comprised of international and local scientists, researchers, policymakers and students at the 8th Malaysian International Seminar on Antarctica (MISA8). The Opening Ceremony of MISA8 was held yesterday at UPM, Serdang.


The Deputy Minister of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment and Climate Change, YB Puan Isnaraissah Munirah Binti Majilis at the same event emphasised that MESTECC has always given support to Malaysia’s involvement in the Antarctic especially in making sure the institutional framework is put in place. MISA8 is co-organised by MESTECC, YPASM, UPM and NARC from 18-20 June 2019 at UPM, Serdang.

The seminar participants will discuss the connectivity between Polar (Antarctica and Arctic) and equatorial climate especially in the area of climate change under the theme “Polar Regions in the Global Climate System”. Malaysia is among the very few countries from the Tropics that have ventured into polar research. Malaysia has also played an active role in Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) activities including initiating, developing and coordinating high quality international scientific researches in the Antarctic region.


MISA8 announced 4 recipients for YPASM Research Grants 2019 which are Assoc.Prof. Dr Siti Aqlima Ahmad (UPM),Assoc.Prof. Dr Siti Aisah Hj Alias (UM), Dr Wan Mohd Rauhan Wan Hussin (UMT), Dr Nur Athirah Yusof (UMS) and 2 recipients for YPASM Berth Support received by Dr Shahrul Mohd Nadzir (UKM) and Dr. Mai Chun Wai (IMU). The grant and Berth Support were given under the Smart Partnership Initiative between YPASM with 8 local universities namely Universiti Putra Malaysia, Universiti Malaya, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Malaysia Sabah, Universiti Teknologi MARA and International Medical University and Universiti Malaysia Terengganu.


Kementerian Tenaga, Teknologi Sains Perubahan Iklim , Alam Sekitar Universiti Putra Malaysia UMT - Universiti Malaysia Terengganu Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia - UKM Universiti Teknologi MARA - Media FB Rasmi Universiti Sains Malaysia International Medical University - IMU University of Malaya IIUM

Date of Input: 20/06/2019 | Updated: 20/06/2019 | akma


Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan
+603 - 9769 7327
+603 - 9769 7328